Sept 2022, Moiry Hut & Mountaineering Training

Sept 2022, Moiry Hut & Mountaineering Training

Simon Withey, Chamonix & Swiss Alpine Mountaineering, Training & Guiding

Hi Rob, yes really good few days thanks, especially considering I couldn’t walk very well 6 weeks ago! Thanks to you and Hamish for rearranging the dates at short notice. Hamish was really good.

On the Pointe de Mourti (PD) above the Moiry Glacier and Hut.

Simon

Gran Paradiso & Monte Rosa Ascents, Sept 2022

Gran Paradiso & Monte Rosa Ascents, Sept 2022

Simon & Toby, Alpine Mountaineering & Mont Blanc Course
We had a great trip thanks and really enjoyed climbing with Neil. The disappointment at not having a crack at MB was more than made up by the great days on Monte Rosa and the fine hospitality in the Rifugio Gnifetti. Thank you both for the swift and seamless change of plans.
High summer bridging conditions on the glacier route from Chabod Hut
All the best, Simon 
Gran Paradiso Group Course September 2022

Gran Paradiso Group Course September 2022

Chen Avinadav, Gran Paradiso Summit Climb & Mountaineering Intro
Thanks for organizing this course, I really enjoyed all parts of the program.  The Gran Paradiso course was well designed and well executed, and overall provided an excellent introduction to alpine mountaineering. Our guide, Kev, was instrumental in the program success. On the mountain, he guided and pushed us hard just the right amount to literally reach new highs, while always keeping us safe and well informed. He was happy to share from his vast knowledge and taught us the basics of moving on the glacier and preparing for the climb. Chapeau! Chen. 
Atmospheric late summer glacier conditions on the Gran Paradiso in Sept 2022
Aletschhorn Ascent & Furka Granite Rock Climbing

Aletschhorn Ascent & Furka Granite Rock Climbing

Richard Flint, Private Guiding, Swiss Alps Aug 2022

Just wanted to say thanks again for another really enjoyable and adventurous time in the mountains – remote big peak, cragging and skills coaching!!! Really appreciated your flexibility in choosing goals, encouragement and great company!!

Richard high on the South West Ridge of the Aletschhorn
Chamonix Mountain Walking July 2022

Chamonix Mountain Walking July 2022

Caroline, Chamonix based guiding for mountain walking

Thank you so much for taking me out walking for two days. Thursday was a wonderful introduction to Chamonix walking high up and scrambling down. I loved it and wish i had been fitter. Friday was a perfect follow and today when i left Chamonix i could clearly see the path.  I hope you had a successful day! I will be in touch to arrange Mont Buet or similar next year…

The mountain path…from Brevent to Servoz via Anterne. A cracking walk with great views to the Fizz, Aravis and Mont Blanc Massifs.

Thank you again! Best wishes Caroline

Gran Paradiso Course June 2022

Gran Paradiso Course June 2022

Emily Spence - Mountaineering Training and Gran Paradiso Ascent
Just wanted to say a huge thank you for an incredible three days. I’ve learnt so much and have come away with a new level of enthusiasm and motivation to get out and continue pursue my love for the mountains.
Dawn rises on the ascent of Gran Paradiso. An early start due to the storms forecasted for the middle of the day.
I will definitely be in touch as am keen to do the Matterhorn and would love to book that with you.
thanks again. Emily
Chamonix Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Chamonix Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Osgur, Dublin, Brevent Big Boot Rock Climbing & Training Day, June 2022

Thanks again for today Rob! Fantastic day of climbing 👌

Osgur approaching the remarkably scenic belay ledge below the crux 5b pitch of La Somone with Mont Blanc beyond….

Osgur

Mont Blanc Training Weekend 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 April 2022

Mont Blanc Training Weekend 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 April 2022

Sokratis Papafloratos, Mont Blanc training weekend in Fort William

Just landed back in London. Amazing weekend – learned tons and had a lot of fun.

Thanks!
Sokratis 
Spring Ski Summits Course 2022

Spring Ski Summits Course 2022

Darryl Sergison, Ski Mountaineering in Chamonix & Bernese Oberland

Yesterday was absolutely awesome and made a great final day to my first full winter season.

Skiing the Glacier Leschaux after a traverse of the brilliant Breche Puiseux, Chamonix

Kev has done a great job this last week, especially given the tricky snowpack and dodgy weather. I had an awesome time and skied some fantastic snow in incredible locations (we also managed to find some awful snow but that’s all part of spring ski touring!

Cheers, Darryl

West Highlands Mont Blanc Training Weekend

West Highlands Mont Blanc Training Weekend

James Andrews, Fort William Mt Blanc Training Course

Just to say thanks for organising a great trip. The team really enjoyed it and Hannah did a great job of encouraging the team who felt they were able to find their limit in a well-supported and safe way.


The team is mulling over a potential trip to Mt Blanc having been pushed hard on this one and I’ll let you know where they end up.

Speak soon.  Jim

Climb Cosmiques Arete, Chamonix

Climb Cosmiques Arete, Chamonix

Sean & Karen Scott, Chamonix Private Guiding, May 2022

Many thanks for another fantastic trip, great to meet Will, Karen enjoyed immensely.

The eagles nest top out at the summit of the Cosmiques Arete in the Midi station, Chamonix.

Back again soon, Kind Regards

Sean

Cairngorms 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Matterhorn Training Weekend 26-27 Mar 2022

Cairngorms 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Matterhorn Training Weekend 26-27 Mar 2022

Chris Cura, Matterhorn Preparation & Mountaineering

Two great bespoke mountain days in the Cairngorms with the experienced and knowledgeable Jonathan Preston: the Twin Ribs onto Fiaicall Ridge with a long snow descent, and a trip up the icy Goat path and an ascent of Afterthought Arete.

Chris enjoying the superb spring snow conditions and weather in the Northern Cairngorms on a Matterhorn preparation weekend.

Increased my confidence in crampons greatly and brought me closer to the skill and fitness I will need for the Matterhorn itself. I strongly recommend High Mountain Guides!

Chamonix Off Piste & Touring Skills

Chamonix Off Piste & Touring Skills

Lorne, Jonathan & Jen, March 2022 Classic Course
We had an awesome week thanks, thoroughly enjoyed it. Great combination between the two elements.  I was really pleased I did the intro course, it has given me lots more confidence.  Jen
Jen & Jonathan enjoying a ski tour on the Tête de Balme, Le Tour on our March classic course.

We had a great week. Really enjoyed the challenge and the adventure.  We’re certainly interested in progressing…Lorne & Jonathan

Scottish Highlands Alpine Mountaineering Week

Scottish Highlands Alpine Mountaineering Week

Tony & Maija, Fort William Mountaineering Week, Feb 2022

We had a great time in Scotland, more or less good weather and Dave was great guide, we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend him.

Alpine Mountaineering Training course, Scottish Highlands

Best, Tony

Aravis Ski Touring Day, March 2022

Aravis Ski Touring Day, March 2022

Stephen and team Chamonix

Cheers Rob.  A great day out.

What an adventure we had…tremendous route and views.
Ski touring on the Point Mandallaz, Aravis
Thanks, Stephen.
Chamonix Intro Ice & Winter Climbing, Feb 2022

Chamonix Intro Ice & Winter Climbing, Feb 2022

Arran Grisley, Intro ice climbing and winter mountaineering
An amazing 3 days with Kevin. Ending with a wonderful coffee in 🇮🇹 and my first Alpine summit.
Winter mountaineering on the Aiguilles Marbrees, accessed from Skyway Monte Bianco, a short drive through the Mont Blanc Tunnel from Chamonix.
I would also like to look at doing some climbing with Kevin if possible ahead of the Mont Blanc ascent to help acclimatise.
Best wishes, Arran
Val Feret & Bonatti Ski Touring Weekend 🇮🇹 Feb 2022

Val Feret & Bonatti Ski Touring Weekend 🇮🇹 Feb 2022

Rachel Sudweeks, Chamonix intro ski touring weekend
It was an amazing weekend!  
Amazing weekend, in an amazing place, ski touring in the Val Feret with base camp at Rifugio Bonatti
I thought Kev was a great guide – helpful tips for the off piste skiing and feedback on technique.  Encouraging and supporting throughout.  Thanks, Rachel
Feb 2022 Aviemore Mt Blanc Training Weekend

Feb 2022 Aviemore Mt Blanc Training Weekend

Paul Bratt & Simon Conroy, Winter Mont Blanc Training In The Cairngorms

I just got home and enjoyed every minute ! Lots of skills learned, and most definitely large quantities of winter !! Michael and I teamed with JP who was excellent. As well as the technical skills I learned how crucial it is to have the right kit to suit onesself.  Looking forward to doing some more ! Paul

Training for Mont Blanc in the Scottish Winter Highlands

I just want to thank you for the training weekend in Aviemore.  It was much better than I had hoped for. Dave was excellent – he pushed us hard and offered a wide range of challenges to prepare us for our trip the Alps this summer. We both learned a lot and feel much better prepared for future days on the mountains.  Simon.

Cairngorms Mid Winter Mont Blanc Training Weekend

Cairngorms Mid Winter Mont Blanc Training Weekend

Michael, Aviemore Mont Blanc Training Weekend, Feb 2022

Having just completed the February Mont Blanc training weekend in Aviemore I wanted to say thank you to HMG for organising a really enjoyable and informative course.  The weather was wintery but the flexibility of the guides to accommodate the weather and still put us through our paces meant we got a lot done.  Rob answered several kit questions before the course and that stood me in great stead.

Training for Mont Blanc – in mid winter in the Northern Cairngorms

If you are thinking about whether to go on the course, I can say that it is a great opportunity to benchmark your kit and fitness, the safety and movement skills learned give confidence and the amount of practical information about actually climbing Mont Blanc that comes from general discussions with others and the guide is invaluable.  Definitely recommended. 

Jan 2022, Grand St. Bernard Snow Shoe Expedition

Jan 2022, Grand St. Bernard Snow Shoe Expedition

Sarah & Jon, Monastery at Grand St. Bernard Private Guiding Expedition

Thank you so much to Rob for an amazing snow shoeing expedition to the Grand St. Bernard Monastery, Col de Barasson, Mont Fourchon and the surrounding area. Rob’s excellent communication, knowledge of the mountains and help with kit and preparation made planning the trip really easy. On the expedition itself, Rob was fantastic company – friendly, professional and good humoured with a brilliant outlook on the mountains and the environment.

The remarkable Hospice and numerous other building at Grand St. Bernard, last few steps on the Italian side approach

His expertise was also hugely impressive and he struck the perfect balance between challenging us with the itinerary while also building in avalanche and route-finding training. The trip was undoubtedly one of our mountaineering highlights and we feel more inspired now than ever before to build on our skills and spend as much time as we can in the mountains!