Chamonix Intro Ski Touring Weekend Jan 2023

Chamonix Intro Ski Touring Weekend Jan 2023

Simon Tempest, Intro Ski Touring In Chamonix & Megeve
When doing the Vallee Blanche with Rob’s team last year, I was inspired to try ski touring and booked on an introductory weekend. As before Rob’s organisation and communication was excellent and he teamed me up with Gav who was my guide and mentor for the trip.
It was everything I’d hoped it would be. Out of sight of lifts, pistes and for the most part people, day 1 was a real trip but also a skill learning day. Day 2 was a day of heavy snow and a trip from Megeve to Petit Croisse Baulet was planned. What an enjoyable day as the snow fell. A mix of pleasant touring, then an ascent to the col, followed by a fantastic ski back down in fluffy powder. We even had a mock avalanche exercise thrown in.
Simon skiing the storm powder at Megeve on our intro ski touring weekend.
Always safe, constantly challenged, learning every minute. I finished up a tired but very happy bunny!  Simon
Chamonix Winter Mountaineering Intro & Glacier Snow Shoe Journey

Chamonix Winter Mountaineering Intro & Glacier Snow Shoe Journey

Ben & Emily, New York, December 2022

We had such a lovely time mountaineering with Rob off the Skyway Monte Bianco. Rob is an amazing guide in all respects— knowledgeable, fun to be with, and a great teacher. Couldn’t recommend him enough

Emily & Ben coming up to the Col de Toule on our winter mountaineering intro and snow shoe glacier journey from Skyway Monte Bianco.

We both had a such a great day and appreciate the photos!

Ben & Emily

Autumn Monte Rosa Ascent

Autumn Monte Rosa Ascent

Eren & Alex, Mountaineering Training & Monte Rosa Ascent, Oct 2022
Thank you both for superb week. Gav was a brilliant guide, who pushed us and help us improve our own skills throughout the trip. Safety was always paramount, which is exactly why it’s worth getting a professional guide, no matter your own experience.
Alex & Eren on the 4563m summit of the Zumsteinspitze in the Monte Rosa Massif. A lovely chilly pristine feel to the mountains in early autumn.
The weather didn’t play ball, which meant we didn’t have a shot at the gran paradiso summit or MB. However, between Rob and Gav, other plans were made quickly, which led to some of the best climbing we have experienced. The Monte Rosa was outstanding, and we will be back for some more of that, plus get ourselves up MB.  Looking forward to our next trip with yourselves already…
Eren & Alex.
Autumn Mont Blanc Course – Oct 2022

Autumn Mont Blanc Course – Oct 2022

Matt Saunders, Climb Monte Rosa & Mont Blanc courses

Given today is now our rest day, I’d just thought I’d take a moment to say thank you. I have had a brilliant week. I think we had some tricky conditions to deal with but for me, this just added to the experience. I was of course disappointed not to summit but given the conditions, Gav absolutely made the right decision. Further to that, please pass on my thanks and forward him this email, he was exceptional. I learnt so much from him and always felt very safe.

Jerome & Matt on an adventurous autumn attempt on Mont Blanc, reaching 4550m on the Bosses Ridge, Oct 2022

I will certainly come back and probably arrange some private guiding to tailor the days to suit me and the conditions at that time.
Thanks again and I hope to be in touch soon to arrange my next trip with you (and Gav). I just need to broach it carefully with my wife first!
Best wishes to you both,
Matt.

Sept 2022, Moiry Hut & Mountaineering Training

Sept 2022, Moiry Hut & Mountaineering Training

Simon Withey, Chamonix & Swiss Alpine Mountaineering, Training & Guiding

Hi Rob, yes really good few days thanks, especially considering I couldn’t walk very well 6 weeks ago! Thanks to you and Hamish for rearranging the dates at short notice. Hamish was really good.

On the Pointe de Mourti (PD) above the Moiry Glacier and Hut.

Simon

Gran Paradiso & Monte Rosa Ascents, Sept 2022

Gran Paradiso & Monte Rosa Ascents, Sept 2022

Simon & Toby, Alpine Mountaineering & Mont Blanc Course
We had a great trip thanks and really enjoyed climbing with Neil. The disappointment at not having a crack at MB was more than made up by the great days on Monte Rosa and the fine hospitality in the Rifugio Gnifetti. Thank you both for the swift and seamless change of plans.
High summer bridging conditions on the glacier route from Chabod Hut
All the best, Simon 
Gran Paradiso Group Course September 2022

Gran Paradiso Group Course September 2022

Chen Avinadav, Gran Paradiso Summit Climb & Mountaineering Intro
Thanks for organizing this course, I really enjoyed all parts of the program.  The Gran Paradiso course was well designed and well executed, and overall provided an excellent introduction to alpine mountaineering. Our guide, Kev, was instrumental in the program success. On the mountain, he guided and pushed us hard just the right amount to literally reach new highs, while always keeping us safe and well informed. He was happy to share from his vast knowledge and taught us the basics of moving on the glacier and preparing for the climb. Chapeau! Chen. 
Atmospheric late summer glacier conditions on the Gran Paradiso in Sept 2022
Aletschhorn Ascent & Furka Granite Rock Climbing

Aletschhorn Ascent & Furka Granite Rock Climbing

Richard Flint, Private Guiding, Swiss Alps Aug 2022

Just wanted to say thanks again for another really enjoyable and adventurous time in the mountains – remote big peak, cragging and skills coaching!!! Really appreciated your flexibility in choosing goals, encouragement and great company!!

Richard high on the South West Ridge of the Aletschhorn
Chamonix Mountain Walking July 2022

Chamonix Mountain Walking July 2022

Caroline, Chamonix based guiding for mountain walking

Thank you so much for taking me out walking for two days. Thursday was a wonderful introduction to Chamonix walking high up and scrambling down. I loved it and wish i had been fitter. Friday was a perfect follow and today when i left Chamonix i could clearly see the path.  I hope you had a successful day! I will be in touch to arrange Mont Buet or similar next year…

The mountain path…from Brevent to Servoz via Anterne. A cracking walk with great views to the Fizz, Aravis and Mont Blanc Massifs.

Thank you again! Best wishes Caroline

Gran Paradiso Course June 2022

Gran Paradiso Course June 2022

Emily Spence - Mountaineering Training and Gran Paradiso Ascent
Just wanted to say a huge thank you for an incredible three days. I’ve learnt so much and have come away with a new level of enthusiasm and motivation to get out and continue pursue my love for the mountains.
Dawn rises on the ascent of Gran Paradiso. An early start due to the storms forecasted for the middle of the day.
I will definitely be in touch as am keen to do the Matterhorn and would love to book that with you.
thanks again. Emily
Chamonix Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Chamonix Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Osgur, Dublin, Brevent Big Boot Rock Climbing & Training Day, June 2022

Thanks again for today Rob! Fantastic day of climbing 👌

Osgur approaching the remarkably scenic belay ledge below the crux 5b pitch of La Somone with Mont Blanc beyond….

Osgur

Mont Blanc Training Weekend 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 April 2022

Mont Blanc Training Weekend 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 April 2022

Sokratis Papafloratos, Mont Blanc training weekend in Fort William

Just landed back in London. Amazing weekend – learned tons and had a lot of fun.

Thanks!
Sokratis 
Spring Ski Summits Course 2022

Spring Ski Summits Course 2022

Darryl Sergison, Ski Mountaineering in Chamonix & Bernese Oberland

Yesterday was absolutely awesome and made a great final day to my first full winter season.

Skiing the Glacier Leschaux after a traverse of the brilliant Breche Puiseux, Chamonix

Kev has done a great job this last week, especially given the tricky snowpack and dodgy weather. I had an awesome time and skied some fantastic snow in incredible locations (we also managed to find some awful snow but that’s all part of spring ski touring!

Cheers, Darryl

West Highlands Mont Blanc Training Weekend

West Highlands Mont Blanc Training Weekend

James Andrews, Fort William Mt Blanc Training Course

Just to say thanks for organising a great trip. The team really enjoyed it and Hannah did a great job of encouraging the team who felt they were able to find their limit in a well-supported and safe way.


The team is mulling over a potential trip to Mt Blanc having been pushed hard on this one and I’ll let you know where they end up.

Speak soon.  Jim

Climb Cosmiques Arete, Chamonix

Climb Cosmiques Arete, Chamonix

Sean & Karen Scott, Chamonix Private Guiding, May 2022

Many thanks for another fantastic trip, great to meet Will, Karen enjoyed immensely.

The eagles nest top out at the summit of the Cosmiques Arete in the Midi station, Chamonix.

Back again soon, Kind Regards

Sean

Cairngorms 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Matterhorn Training Weekend 26-27 Mar 2022

Cairngorms 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Matterhorn Training Weekend 26-27 Mar 2022

Chris Cura, Matterhorn Preparation & Mountaineering

Two great bespoke mountain days in the Cairngorms with the experienced and knowledgeable Jonathan Preston: the Twin Ribs onto Fiaicall Ridge with a long snow descent, and a trip up the icy Goat path and an ascent of Afterthought Arete.

Chris enjoying the superb spring snow conditions and weather in the Northern Cairngorms on a Matterhorn preparation weekend.

Increased my confidence in crampons greatly and brought me closer to the skill and fitness I will need for the Matterhorn itself. I strongly recommend High Mountain Guides!

Chamonix Off Piste & Touring Skills

Chamonix Off Piste & Touring Skills

Lorne, Jonathan & Jen, March 2022 Classic Course
We had an awesome week thanks, thoroughly enjoyed it. Great combination between the two elements.  I was really pleased I did the intro course, it has given me lots more confidence.  Jen
Jen & Jonathan enjoying a ski tour on the Tête de Balme, Le Tour on our March classic course.

We had a great week. Really enjoyed the challenge and the adventure.  We’re certainly interested in progressing…Lorne & Jonathan

Scottish Highlands Alpine Mountaineering Week

Scottish Highlands Alpine Mountaineering Week

Tony & Maija, Fort William Mountaineering Week, Feb 2022

We had a great time in Scotland, more or less good weather and Dave was great guide, we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend him.

Alpine Mountaineering Training course, Scottish Highlands

Best, Tony

Aravis Ski Touring Day, March 2022

Aravis Ski Touring Day, March 2022

Stephen and team Chamonix

Cheers Rob.  A great day out.

What an adventure we had…tremendous route and views.
Ski touring on the Point Mandallaz, Aravis
Thanks, Stephen.
Chamonix Intro Ice & Winter Climbing, Feb 2022

Chamonix Intro Ice & Winter Climbing, Feb 2022

Arran Grisley, Intro ice climbing and winter mountaineering
An amazing 3 days with Kevin. Ending with a wonderful coffee in 🇮🇹 and my first Alpine summit.
Winter mountaineering on the Aiguilles Marbrees, accessed from Skyway Monte Bianco, a short drive through the Mont Blanc Tunnel from Chamonix.
I would also like to look at doing some climbing with Kevin if possible ahead of the Mont Blanc ascent to help acclimatise.
Best wishes, Arran