Chamonix Rock Climbing Training Day, Sept 2020

Chamonix Rock Climbing Training Day, Sept 2020

Bram Houben, rock climbing - rope work and training day at Les Gaillands

Thanks for the solid day! Good stuff, first outdoor lead, first multipitch and checked the guidebook. The second pitch on the last climb was a 6a. So pretty happy with that one 😁

Bram enjoying the brilliant climbing and position of l’Arete at Grand Gaillands, Chamonix

Solid knowledge 😂 & thanks for the photos. Bram

Chamonix Rock Climbing Info here.

Half Day Chamonix Rock Climbing, Sept 2020

Half Day Chamonix Rock Climbing, Sept 2020

Tris & Rodrigo, Sport climbing & multi pitch rock training and guiding

Thanks for making it possible Rob! Great coaching, we managed to learn so much this morning…Big thanks to HMG for a great half day session Chamonix Rock climbing.

Lead climb training and multi pitch experience at Les Gaillands in Chamonix. Great action packed half day training session.

Really great for us as to have an instructor for outdoor climbing is an opportunity we don’t have easily London. Much more confident belaying now sans anchor and was really awesome to learn and experience multi pitch and abseiling! Thank youuuu 😊 Tris & Rodrigo.

Chamonix Intro Alpine Mountaineering Long Weekend

Chamonix Intro Alpine Mountaineering Long Weekend

Patricia & Rodrigo, Chamonix Private Guiding & Aiguille du Tour & Alpine Training

Thank you so much for an amazing introduction! I’m so happy I actually can’t believe I managed to do that… Rodrigo and I truly enjoyed this weekend with you thank you!!

Dawn on the Trient Plateau, heading to the Aiguille du Tour from the Orny Hut, photo Jonny Baird.

HMG thank you for the warm wishes, rest is definitely in the books for us this week 😂 Thanks again for all the planning and accommodating our last minute changes and we hope to see you next time!

2 Day Intro To Rock, Ice & Alpine Mountaineering in Chamonix

2 Day Intro To Rock, Ice & Alpine Mountaineering in Chamonix

Bram & Justine, Chamonix Intro Alpine Weekend, Aug 2020

Thank you once more for the excellent 2-day introduction into mountaineering. The first day on the glacier with instructions on specific techniques and continuous concrete advise were much appreciated. Especially loved you letting us try a hand at ice climbing. The 2nd day up Aiguille du Tour was amazing & continuous guidance on detailed elements throughout the climb were great.

Ice Climbing & Mountaineering Training on the Tour Glacier above Chamonix

The 2 day trip was all I could ask for as an introduction. The positivity in the team was just lovely + your continuous encouragements only improved the good spirits. Thank you & Justine for the amazing couple of days that left me wanting for more. It was a wonderful adventure and you will definitely see me again.  Bram.

Chamonix Mountaineering Week – Alpine Day Tripping!

Chamonix Mountaineering Week – Alpine Day Tripping!

Andy Clarke, Chamonix Private Guiding, Aug 2020

Rob, many thanks for organising 5 days climbing in France, Italy and Switzerland. I appreciate you had to make multiple changes leading up to our arrival and then during the week due to various circumstances! The route choices were superb and the focus on the AD routes perfectly suited what I wanted to get out of the week.

Steep but easy juggy climbing in a great position near the central summit of the Breithorn.

Your continuous advice & commentary on techniques, ropework, progress etc was helpful and always inciteful. The pandemic prevented us from getting to the Eiger, but despite this it was a week full (there was no let up!) of great routes, glorious exposure and amazing situations! (You perhaps need to work on your definition of a short day!) Definitely be coming back for an Eiger week in 2021!

Chamonix Intro Mountaineering Day, Aug 2020

Chamonix Intro Mountaineering Day, Aug 2020

Justine & Gordon
Many thanks for that very special outing, on a wonderful clear and panoramic journey. My first taste of climbing on ice and snow. Doing that together with you and Justine made me feel I was in safe hands. I particularly appreciated the way you kept yourself, and our plans open to new circumstances. Combined with your very careful and specific advice on technique as we got out there and looked up at you high above us on the ice and snow, gave me a sense of confidence that allowed me to try that brief but exhilarating climb up the ice face.
 This was to round off a great day in a part of the Alps that we didn’t know well but may now come back to. Gordon. 
Gran Paradiso & Chamonix Mountaineering July 2020

Gran Paradiso & Chamonix Mountaineering July 2020

James, Ihar & Jared, Chamonix private guiding

Thanks again Rob for a fantastic couple of days leading us up our first alpine summit!  Was superbly well organised and hopefully we’ll see you again in the winter for some touring.  In the meantime we’ll continue to work on improving our equipment faff times..

Climbing the Petit Flambeau from the Skyway Monte Bianco training for Gran Paradiso
Snowdonia Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Snowdonia Rock Climbing & Matterhorn Training

Ed Butchart, Private Guiding & Mountaineering Training North Wales, July 2020

I had a great couple of days of Matterhorn training in Snowdonia with my guide Steve.  It was a really useful couple of days, and I greatly appreciated accompanying someone with Steve’s experience and expertise. Thanks to all for arranging; shame you weren’t in charge of the weather!

Snowdonia Rock Climbing & Mountaineering
Ed ‘enjoying’ (embracing!) the North Wales weather during a brilliant Matterhorn training weekend in Snowdonia. Photo Steve Long.

I’ll certainly bear you guys in mind next time I come to Snowdonia.  Many thanks again, Ed

Chamonix Off Piste Ski Guiding, March 2020

Chamonix Off Piste Ski Guiding, March 2020

Jon Foster, Ski Grands Montets & Le Tour
Neil was a great guide he knew so much about the mountain and reassured my daughter about avalanche fears through his excellent knowledge of snow conditions and preparation. He was friendly and had some good conversations and skied until even my 20 year old daughter was tired which is great!
Skiing at Le Tour Off Piste
Enjoying the fresh powder at Le Tour, Chamonix
Great couple of days skiing. Definitely doing it again. Best Regards, Jon
Chamonix Ski Guiding, March 2020

Chamonix Ski Guiding, March 2020

Campbell & Melissa, Ski Grands Montets & Vallée Blanche

Neil was great today thanks Rob. Very patient with Melissa, we had an amazing day.

Grands Montets Off Piste guide
Fresh powder day at the Grands Montets, Argentiere, Chamonix Valley.
Chamonix Off Piste Ski Guiding, March 2020

Chamonix Off Piste Ski Guiding, March 2020

Ira Gross and team, Ski Guiding at Le Tour & Vallée Blanche

We would like to thank you for introducing us to John. He was amazing, we felt safe, learned a thing or two, and had a blast. The next time we come the Chamonix, we will absolutely contact your outfit, and set something up.

Good snowy powder conditions high in the Vallee Blanche

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Cheers, Ira

Ski Vallée Blanche Guiding Feb 2020

Ski Vallée Blanche Guiding Feb 2020

Michael Clark, Jonathan Hildreth, Colin Goggin, USA

Wanted to send a note now that our crew is back stateside 🇺🇸. The reviews we received about your outfit before we booked were on point, A+ experience. Kenny was a terrific guide and showed us an unforgettable time, he knew what our capabilities and aspirations were, showed us the goods and kept us safe.

Good skiing on the Gros Rognon variation to the classic VB.

I can see why so many wish to call the Mount Blanc Massif & Chamonix area home. Cheers gentlemen, til next time….

Chamonix Off Piste – Touring & Mountain Skills

Chamonix Off Piste – Touring & Mountain Skills

Cath Moran & Donald Chalmers, Progression Course Feb 2020

Thankyou rob and Dee for a great week learnt loads and lots to work on for the future everyone great company also. Cath

In to the Contamines meadows country. Superb lift accessed backcountry skiing in great conditions, late Feb 2020.

Rob and Dee. Cath pretty much sums up my week also.  Thank you both, really enjoyed the skiing company and chat. Good to ski with you all, hope to do so again in the not to distant future. Now to brave the Scottish rain! Donald

Feb 2020, Intro Ski Touring Weekend – Val Feret

Feb 2020, Intro Ski Touring Weekend – Val Feret

Louise Yates Rock, Greg Bridger, Amy Jordan & James Carr, Chamonix Ski Touring Weekend & Rifugio Bonatti Hut Trip

Thank you for wonderful introduction to the world of ski touring. It was a pleasure to meet all of you 🏔⛷🇮🇹👍🏽 Greg

Chamonix Ski Touring Weekend
Intro Ski Touring Team on top of the Col Malatra, Val Feret

Hi Rob, thanks for the photos, link and your guiding. Another great weekend in the mountains. Big thumbs up for the Bonatti hut! – Was nice to explore the other side of MB.  James

Thanks all for a fab weekend!  Louise.

Amy, Thanks Rob – it was great!!  Amy

Chamonix Ski Mountaineering Guided Day

Chamonix Ski Mountaineering Guided Day

Dave Cramer, Col de Beaugeant, Chamonix Feb 2020
I could not have been more pleased with the tour and with Kev. It was perfect for me—a true introduction to ski mountaineering, with kick turns and ropework. I felt like I learned a lot without ever being in over my head. I’ve hiked a bit in the Aiguilles Rouges, and I love the complex terrain and ever-changing dramatic scenery. There’s nothing like skinning for a while, remembering to look over your shoulder, and be staring right at the North Face of the Grand Jorasses.
Col de Beageant Ski Tour, Aiguilles Rouges, Chamonix, Photo Kev Avery
Kev was not only good company, but I was quite impressed with his guiding skills. I very much appreciated his thoughtful approach to risk management. Halfway down the descent, we switched to axes and crampons for a bit to cross a significant patch of ice, which other skiers had fallen on. I also liked how he always kept me informed about where we were headed, what to expect, etc. Good communication really helps make for an enjoyable day. Many thanks to you both for a great experience. I’ll be back!  Dave.
Evasion Off Piste & Aravis Ski Touring Course

Evasion Off Piste & Aravis Ski Touring Course

Mike Booth, Combloux off piste & avalanche training & Aravis ski touring, Feb 2020

For me this course was a perfect balance between improving my technical knowledge and refreshing key safety messages combined with covering some great terrain and stunning scenery at a steady pace and I can recommend this course to anyone looking to progress their skills and cover new terrain.  Mike

Ski Evasion Aravis 5 Day Course Feb 2020

Ski Evasion Aravis 5 Day Course Feb 2020

Pete Cavanagh, Aravis Ski Touring & Evasion Off Piste

Hi Rob, Just wanted to say a big thank you to yourself and Jonny for a great Ski Evasion Aravis week. The course was exactly what I was hoping it would be – some refreshing of knowledge and techniques combined with some wonderful ski tours– all delivered with a highly professional and friendly approach. I would thoroughly recommend the course and the Aravis region to others.  Pete. 

Aravis Ski Tour
Ski touring high on the Croise Baulet with Mont Blanc beyond
Chamonix Off Piste & Mountain Skills Course

Chamonix Off Piste & Mountain Skills Course

Ruth Adamson, Cham Off Piste & Ski Touring Jan 2020
Just to say big thank you for a fantastic week – the days flew by far too quickly! I enjoyed every part of the week thanks to you both.  It was a really good mix of ski coaching and mountain skills and I can’t think of anything that you should change.  My skiing has definitely improved as well as my confidence, both in my skiing and starting to understand more about how do it safely.
Ski Vallee Blanche Team
It has certainly given me a taste for ski touring and the potential for lots of adventures.  I very much hope to ski with you again sometime soon.  Best wishes, Ruth
Jan 2020 Cham Off Piste & Mountain Skills

Jan 2020 Cham Off Piste & Mountain Skills

Mark Allison, Chamonix Off Piste Coaching, Ski Touring & Mountain Training
Thanks Rob. It was a really great week.  I don’t have any comments to make re. improvements because I thought the course was a perfect blend of instruction and activity whilst taking into account, where possible, our needs and wants and I don’t think you need to change it in any way.
Ski Touring in the Combe Maudit in the upper Vallee Blanche
I’ll certainly check out future course dates and am looking forward to coming back sooner or later but not later than next year (which sounds too long).  Best wishes, Mark
Evasion Aravis Ski Touring Weekend, Jan 2020

Evasion Aravis Ski Touring Weekend, Jan 2020

James, Isabella & Scott, Megeve & Les Contamines Ski Touring Guiding

Great to ski with you again Rob. Thanks for a gret weekend, as always.  James

Thanks to all 3 of you for a fantastic weekend!  Isabella 

Les Contamines Ski Touring
James enjoying the powder on our Contamines Ski Touring Weekend

Thanks for a fun weekend everyone. Scott